Page 20 - CC2018_WD_Look_Inside
P. 20

Understanding File Saving Preferences              Save As to Original Folder . When this option is checked,
               You can control a number of options related to saving files in the File Handling pane of the Preferences dialog box.
             PHOTOSHOP FOUNDATIONS  never, include image thumbnails in the saved file. If you   choosing File>Save As automatically defaults to the location
               Image Previews . You can use this menu to always, or

               choose Ask When Saving in this menu, the Save As dialog
                                                              where the original file is located.
               box includes an option to include the preview/thumbnail.
                                                              Save in Background . The Save process occurs by default
                                                              in the background; in other words, you can continue
               On Macintosh, you have an additional option to include a
                                                              working even while a file is being saved. Especially when
               thumbnail in the saved file. If checked, the image thumbnail
               appears in dialog boxes instead of the Photoshop file icon.
                                                              you work with large files, this can be a significant time saver
                                                              because you don’t have to sit and wait the several minutes it
                                                              might take to save a very large file. (The only thing you can’t
                                                              do while a file is being saved is use the Save As command; if
                                                              you try, you will see a warning advising you to wait until the
                                                              background save is complete.)
                 Macintosh                                                 When a file is being saved in the
                                                                           background, the completed percent-
                                                                           age appears in the document tab.




                 Windows                                      Automatically Save Recovery Information Every . . .
                                                              When checked, this option means that your work is saved in
               Append File Extension . On Macintosh, you can use this   a temporary file, every 10 minutes by default; if something
               menu to always, or never, include the file extension in the   happens — such as a power outage — you will be able to
               saved file. If the Ask When Saving option is selected in this   restore your work back to the last auto-saved version. In
               menu, the Save As dialog box includes options to append   other words, the most you will lose is 10 minutes’ work!
               the file extension (in lower case or not).
               On Windows, file extensions are always added to saved files;
               this preference menu has only two options: Use Upper Case
               and Use Lower Case.






































       30 Project 1: Composite Movie Ad
   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25