Page 20 - CC 2019 WD Look Inside
P. 20

Understanding File Saving Preferences

           You can control a number of options related to saving files in the File Handling pane of the Preferences dialog box.

           Image Previews . You can use this menu to always or never   Save As to Original Folder . When this option is checked,
           include image thumbnails in the saved file. If you choose Ask   choosing File>Save As automatically defaults to the location
           When Saving in this menu, the Save As dialog box includes an   where the original file is located.
           option to include the preview/thumbnail.
                                                          Save in Background . The Save process occurs by default
           On Macintosh, you have an additional option to include a   in the background. In other words, you can continue working
           thumbnail in the saved file. If checked, the image thumbnail   even while a file is being saved. Especially when you work
           appears in dialog boxes instead of the Photoshop file icon.    with large files, this can be a significant time saver because
                                                          you don’t have to sit and wait the several minutes it might
                                                          take to save a very large file. The only thing you can’t do
                                                          while a file is being saved is use the Save As command; if
                                                          you try, you will see a warning advising you to wait until the
                                                          background save is complete.
            Macintosh                                                   When a file is being saved in the
                                                                       background, the completed percent-
                                                                        age appears in the document tab.




            Windows                                       Automatically Save Recovery Information Every . . .
                                                          When checked, this option means that your work is saved in
           Append File Extension . On Macintosh, you can use this   a temporary file, every 10 minutes, by default. If something
           menu to always or never include the file extension in the   happens — such as a power outage — you will be able to
           saved file. If the Ask When Saving option is selected in this   restore your work back to the last autosaved version. In other
           menu, the Save As dialog box includes options to append the   words, the most you will lose is 10 minutes of work!
           file extension (in lowercase or not).

           On Windows, file extensions are always added to saved files.
           This preference menu has only two options: Use Upper Case
           and Use Lower Case.
































       32  Project 1: Composite Movie Ad
   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25