Page 52 - CC2017_PS_Look_Inside
P. 52
Navigating the History thumbnails
The Undo command (Edit>Undo or Command/Control-Z)
PHOTOSHOP FOUNDATIONS use the Step Backward command (Edit>Step Backward Source for the Create new document
Snapshot
only steps back to the last action completed; after you
use the Undo command, it toggles to Redo. You can also
from current state
Individual
or Command-Option-Z/Control-Alt-Z) to move back in
history states
the history one step at a time, or use the History panel
Create new snapshot
(Window>History) to navigate back to earlier stages.
History Brush
Delete current state
Every action you take is recorded as a state in the History
panel. You can click any state to return to that particular
point in the document progression. You can also delete
specific states or create a new document from a particular
state using the buttons at the bottom of the panel.
By default, the History panel stores the last 50
states; older states are automatically deleted.
You can change that setting in the Performance
pane of the Preferences dialog box. Keep in mind,
however, that storing a larger number of states
will increase the memory that is required to work
with a specific file.
Keep the following in mind when using the History
panel:
• The default snapshot is the image state when
it was first opened.
• The oldest state is at the top of the list; the
most recent state appears at the bottom.
• You can save any particular state as a snapshot to
prevent it from being deleted when that state is no If you need to keep a record of a file’s history even after you
longer within the number of states that can be stored. close the file, you can activate the History Log option in the
• The history is only stored while the file is open; when History Log pane of the Preferences dialog box. When this
you close a file, the history and snapshots are not saved. option is checked, you can save the history log as metadata,
• When you select a specific state, the states below it are in a text file, or both. You can also determine the level of
dimmed so you can see which changes will be discarded detail that will be recorded in the history log.
if you go back to a particular history state.
• Sessions Only records each time you launch or quit and
• Selecting a state and then changing the image each time you open and close individual files.
eliminates all states that come after it.
• Concise adds the text that appears in the History panel
• Deleting a state deletes that state and those after it. to the Sessions information.
If you choose Allow Non-Linear History in the History • Detailed gives you a complete history of all changes
Options dialog box (accessed in the History panel made to files.
Options menu), deleting a state deletes only that state.
62 Project 1: Composite Movie Ad

