Page 48 - CS6_DW_Look_Inside
P. 48
exPort And remove the site definition
To reduce the potential for confusion, it’s a good idea to remove the defined sites of
completed projects, leaving only the defined sites of current projects.
As stated in the Interface chapter, removing a site from Dreamweaver does not
delete the actual files and folders from your computer; it simply removes them from
Dreamweaver. Rather than removing a site, however, you can export a site definition
file — which you can later import to restore the same settings and options you already
defined (as you did in the Interface chapter when you imported the sf-arts site).
As you work through the projects in this book, you will export and remove site
definitions for completed projects so your site list remains manageable. You should get
into this habit so you can quickly reinstate site definitions if necessary.
1. With the Kinetic site open in the Files panel, click the Disconnect from
Remote Server button.
2. In the Files panel, click the Collapse... button.
This restores the panel to show only one column of files. Since you re now disconnected
from the remote server, the panel defaults to show the local site folder.
3. Open the Directory menu and choose Manage Sites.
4. In the Manage Sites dialog box, choose the Kinetic site name, and then click
the Export button.
This function creates a “.ste” file that stores the Dreamweaver site definition settings.
58 Project 1: Bistro Site Organization

